jump to navigation

Refreshing Lemon Cake July 14, 2007

Posted by thelazychef in Cakes.
trackback

Smells great! Tastes even better! Mmmm!

Hehe…

I took a long hiatus again!

Well, I’ve currently undergoing my internship at an engineering company and have literally very little energy left when I get home. haha…

But this week, I celebrated my bday :) and decided to bake something nice for my colleagues and friends. It was so good that they finished the share that I saved for my family! And so, to appease my family, as I’m typing this post, there’s another one baking in the oven! (And the whole house smells heavenly now!!!!)

I chanced upon this recipe on KC(by ilovebaking) and decided to give it a go!

What a good choice! The cake was delicious! And the lemon frosting was a great compliment to the moist citrusy cake!

Give it a try when you’re free! Its a relatively simple recipe with great results!

Refreshing Lemon Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
250 grams butter (1 bar)
3/4 cup sugar
3 eggs
grated zest from 1 large lemon
200 ml sour cream

Lemon Glaze:
1/2 cup sifted icing sugar
2 tablespoons melted butter
3 teaspoons lemon juice


Method
1. Preheat oven to 180C. Thoroughly butter and flour a 9-inch bundt pan; tap pan on edge of sink to shake out excess flour.
Set pan aside.
2. Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl; set aside.

3. In bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar at low speed until blended, then beat at medium until mixture is very fluffy (about 6 minutes). Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, scraping down side of bowl after each addition.

4. Add lemon zest and blend. Add flour mixture to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream and scraping down side of bowl after each addition.

5. Pour batter into prepared pan; bake in preheated oven until a wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out clean (about 50 mins to 1 hour).

Cool in pan 20 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare Lemon Glaze. Turn out cake onto a platter; drizzle evenly with glaze.

thelazychef ‘s notes:
1.
Original recipe calls for 1 cup of sour cream which should be about 250ml of sour cream, but our supermarkets sells only 200ml tubs of sour cream! And so, I took a chance and used 200ml instead. It turned out fine. So if you have 250ml available, you may use 250ml instead.

2. If you love more lemon frosting on top, by all means, make another batch!

3. Original recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar. I REFUSED to use that much sugar because its so sinful! And so, the 1st time I made it, I used slightly less than 1 cup of sugar and still felt that it could have been less sweet (maybe its my low tolerance for sugar!). And so, if you prefer your cake to be sweeter, please adjust accordingly. I used 3/4 cup of sugar for my 2nd cake and when I licked the cake batter(heh… I love licking left-over cake batter! Its a gd preview of the actual cake!), it tasted less sweet than the prev. cake.

Comments»

1. durianberry - July 17, 2007

Glad to have you back to posting again! I miss your easy recipes :) I’ve baked lemon cookies before and it is really refreshing to munch on. So I’m looking forward to try out this recipe

2. Um 3abdilwahab - July 18, 2007

I live ur recipes a lot, keep on going dear

3. thelazychef - July 19, 2007

Hi durianberry!

Yup! Give it a go! The lemon frosting is really good! heh!!!

Hi Um,

Thanks for the encouragement! ;)

4. elaine - July 22, 2007

hai there..

i just saw ur blog recently.

ur blog is really interesting..well done!!

can u help me….

iam very like to do cookie and cake

but i got no mircowave to do so.

can u please teach me how to do simple cookies or cake w/o usin microwave. can i use oven or toaster instead?

iam new and not really know how to. can u teach me with the simplest way.

thank you very much

5. thelazychef - July 24, 2007

Hi Elaine,

Well, I don’t bake with my microwave either, so no worries about that part. I use an oven. :)

I have a good simple cookie recipe which I will post soon! Maybe it’ll be simple enough for you to follow. I will describe each step in detail so that it will easy for you to follow along.

Anyway, baking is all about trials and errors. I had my fair share of hiccups. But it didn’t make me give up… it just spurred me on to keep trying and getting it right or improving on it. So, don’t be too hard on yourself if your first few times were bad or full of problems. You’ll get better as time goes by! ;)

By the way, if you don’t have an oven, i’m sure you would have a big pot at home, where you can steam food in… If you have it, you can make 2 of the cakes I made before: Steamed Moist Chocolate Cake(which is a favourite here at lazychef.wordpress.com!) or the Baby Pandan Chiffon Cake (which the older folks love!). If you want something savoury, you can try the Oriental Lasagne.

Have fun in your cooking/baking journey and I’ll be here to give any advice anytime you need them. You can email me at thelazychef@gmail.com too!

6. Jian - August 13, 2007

Hie there! Finished up the mag but unfortunately couldn’t use the pic. Sorry ya…but I borrowed your name…hope u dun mind…but the pic to go with ur nick is from another source….hope u dun mind again…=.=

7. Jian - August 14, 2007

er….just forget the comment above. You can go over and see the cover : )

8. small cookie - August 17, 2007

this looks good. hopefully I have time to try it one of these days.

9. Hikmatun - November 12, 2007

MMmm yummy, please feed me :D

10. The Witchy Woo - March 5, 2008

oooh man,this isn’t fair, i’m on
a diet

11. crazybaker - December 4, 2009

This looks yummy! i want to try already.

12. crazybaker - December 4, 2009

erm…if i don’t own a bundt pan, can i use a springform pan and get the same results?

13. Deliriousfoodie's Blog - August 2, 2010

[...] Recipe continued at The Lazy Chef [...]

14. Sasha - December 29, 2010

i made it yesterday
it looked soo gooood!!!
but was kinda tough…why?

Scott_X - February 25, 2011

After making the recipe’ once as stated & again modified, it seems the toughness is from the baking powder. In place of baking powder, use 1tsp to 2tsp of baking soda.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

