jump to navigation

Ghirardelli Choco Chip Cookies February 15, 2006

Posted by thelazychef in Cookies.
trackback

 

 

This is my Valentine’s Day bake this year!

Gosh, the Ghirardelli chocolate chips were heavenly! It really is the Godiva of baking chocolate! Unfortunately, it isn’t easily available! I searched various supermarkets before i found it at Liberty Market at Jurong Point! But mind you, its pretty ex! But hey, with quality chocolate, comes quality cookies!

The chocolate remains soft even after baking and the flavour is very rich! Unfortunately, the white chip was a little of a disappointment because it harden, but hey, it added a touch of crunchiness to it!

Got lots of raves from it! I’m glad everyone loved it!

Well, happy belated V-day to all!

Ghirardelli Chocolate Chip

Yield: 60  

What you need! 

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup of Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Chips. (You can use any brand of chocolate chips too!)
 

What to do!  

Preheat oven to 350 F / 180 degree celcius.

Cream together butter and sugars until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and blend in.

Mix the rest of the dry ingredients and add in chocolate chips.

Use a tablespoon to drop cookie dough on to a greased baking sheet.

Bake for approx. 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown around the edges.

Once done, let it cool on a wire rack and enjoy.

PS: I had a mix of white chips and double choco chips and I added more than 1 cup of chips! Didn’t want to stinge on it and get called “Chip(cheap)-skate cookies”

Adapted from shebakesandshecooks.

Comments»

1. novice baker - February 24, 2006

oh, this chocolate brand is really gooooood in chocolate chips cookies. In fact I just baked one batch yesterday using the semi-sweet chips from Ghirardelli.

2. Gustad Mody - February 28, 2006

those look nice and moist.

3. thelazychef - March 5, 2006

Hi novice baker, Ghirardelli is really good. Really pleased with them!

Gustad Mody, yeap, they taste great too! =)

4. Beth - April 16, 2006

Does anyone still have a bag of the Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Chips? If so, is there a recipe on the bag for Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies? Their Double Chocolate Chips were the best and now that I can’t find them (and didn’t write down the recipe!), I haven’t been able to find a comparable recipe. If you have the recipe, could you please forward to me?

5. Beth - April 16, 2006

An email address would’ve helped! beng@cox.net

6. cybele - April 29, 2006

I’m usually able to find the Ghiradelli chips on the cheap at the drug store and the cookie recipe on the package is much better than Nestle Toll House (I add pecans). But I haven’t made cookies a very long time.

7. thelazychef - April 29, 2006

Hi Cybele, thanks for visiting…

Wow, lucky you, at least you can get it cheap in the US. Over here in Singapore, it can get pretty pricey. But hey, I’m going over for an exchange program at UCLA this coming july, so before I come back, I’ll probably stock up on this delicious chips and yes, I’m so intrigued by the new Hersheys Kissables! We dun have over here yet! I think I’ll bring a huge 3lb bag home!

8. Jo - December 13, 2007

Hi! I am novice so pls pardon me. I noticed the measurements are in cups. Is there a conversation to grams to be more accurate? Pls enlighten me, thanks.

9. sienitsirhc - December 13, 2007

nowadays the semisweet ones can be found in most cold storages and some ntucs. unfortunately i’ve still been unable to find the white chocolate ones. if you know of somewhere else apart from jurong (somewhere more central would be nice) please like me know. THANKS in advance (:

10. Emily - June 11, 2008

i made these!!!! tasted just like millie’s cookies 🙂

yummm

thankyou veryveryvery much for the recipe, will definitely be making them again!!!

Unfortunately i couldn’t get hold of ghirardelli chocolate, as I live in England, but I made one batch with Galaxy and another with thorntons – and the Thorntons definitely wins!!

yummers & thankyou again 😀

11. thelazychef - July 11, 2008

Hi Emily, glad the cookies turned out great. You’re welcome!

I love Thorntons too! My parents and I stayed in UK for a period of time and my Mum loved Thorntons! So, whenever Dad visits UK for work, he’ll bring back some gorgeous chocs for the family.

Ghirardelli chocs are from US and are pretty popular, especially in San Fran.

12. Blance - November 8, 2011

Please do try Valrhona chocolate! It’s widely considered one of the best. 🙂


Leave a Reply

