jump to navigation

White Choc Cappuccino Muffin with Cream cheese topping March 5, 2006

Posted by thelazychef in Muffins, Cupcakes and Scones.
trackback

Sorry I have not been posting… I’ve been sooooo busy with sch(its literally drowning me!), that I have not had enough time to step into the kitchen for some serious baking. 

And as such, I’m think I’m suffering from Baking Withdrawal…

But but but… I see a free day coming up next week! So, I’ll probably whip up some yummy banana muffins. I promised my younger brother to help him with his Home Economic’s project, so I’ll be teaching him how to impress girls his teacher with yummilious muffins!

And so, for now, I’ll share with you a recipe I adapted and recreated on my own. I made this some time back but didn’t have time to transfer the recipe from my prev blog to here… 

The original recipe was a cupcake and it didn’t have chocolate chips… But being the lazychef, I didn’t want to use my mixer to cream the butter for the cupcakes, so I modified the recipe into a muffin!

And yes, I have to rave about it, but coffee+Baileys+cream cheese is a powerful combination! Yum!

Mmmmm.... 

White Choc Cappuccino Muffin with Cream cheese topping

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup white chocolate chips

1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
2 tbsp Baileys/Kahlua/Orange Juice
2 tsp instant coffee dissolved in 1 tbsp hot water
1/3 cup milk

Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 cup sugar, salt, baking powder and white chocolate chips.
Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg, coffee, Baileys and enough milk to fill the cup.
Mix this with flour mixture. Do NOT overmix. Batter should be lumpy!

Cream Cheese Topping
125g cream cheese (room temperature)
1 tsp vanilla essence
60g icing sugar
1 medium egg

DIRECTIONS:
1) Preheat oven to 190 degree C
2) Create muffin batter as instructed above.
3) Spoon batter to fill half the muffin/cupcake cases.
4) Bake for 10 minutes.
5) Meantime, beat ingredients B till fluffy and well combined.
6) Remove cupcakes from oven and carefully spoon the creamcheese over.
7) Return to the oven and bake for another 15 minutes

Dust with cocoa powder and icing sugar if desired.

Notes:
You may substitute white chocolate chips with normal chocolate chips.
Add another tbsp of Baileys if you wish!
Add additional splash of milk if your muffin batter is too sticky.
Trust me, muffin taste much better than it looks in the pic! Its very fragrant cos of the coffee and Baileys.

(Recipe adapted from Rusti from Kitchencapers.net)

Comments»

1. leishia - April 6, 2006

all these pictures and writings… man, i think i’m gonna pick up baking as a hobby soon, like, now!!!!

wonderful job! keep baking rachel! 🙂


Leave a Reply

