jump to navigation

Banana Muffins March 6, 2006

Posted by thelazychef in Muffins, Cupcakes and Scones.
trackback

Bananananana muffinnnnssss... 

Yesssss….. I finally baked after a long break… its so fulfilling! (haha… if only i can have as much interest and heart in my studies…! I could top the cohort!)

As said in the previous post, my bro has a home economics project and he has to create a muffin with a budget of $4. And since bananas are cheap and makes muffins super flavourful, I thought, why not?

And so, I got the recipe off my trusty forum, Kitchencapers.net and taught my rascal brother how to bake the muffins.

Results?

I’m sure he’ll get an A! (Thats if he doesn’t ‘kill’ his muffin by over mixing!)

The muffin was moist and smelled great. It wasn’t too sweet which would definately please all those healthy pple out there… =)

Taste wise, I could taste the banana bits because I purposely left chunks of banana in the muffin batter and did not mash all the banana in.

Well, it wasn’t as fluffy as I would have expected it to be, it was a little like a cross between kueh* and cake, but yes, definately leaning towards the cake consistancy.

Well, overall, I feel that this recipe is a keeper… so go ahead, give it a try too… =)

kueh: a malay/peranakan type of cake which is normally very dense and moist.
 

Banana Muffins 

What you need:

2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white sugar (original recipe yields for 1 cup)
1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)
1/2 cup melted butter 
2 eggs
6 tablespoons UHT milk
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions
1 In a bowl mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda,
salt, and cinnamon and set aside.
2 In a separate bowl, mix melted butter and eggs.  Stir in milk and mashed banana and
mix well.
3 Fold in flour mixture into the liquid ingredients until combined.
4 Fill greased muffin tins two-thirds of the way full.
5 Bake in a preheated 170 degrees C oven for 25mins

Notes:

1. I used ‘Ang Ba Jeo’ bananas, apparently, its one of the better ones used for baking purposes.
2. You can substitute butter with margarine or corn oil…
(Recipe adapted from wink of Kitchencapers.net)
   

   

   

    

Comments»

1. nel-er - September 24, 2006

Halo there,
chanced by ur blog and saw ur entry abt muffins.
Can i noe wads the secret to backing muffins? Is there anything abt the “Fold in flour mixture”? I haf tried making several batches of muffins but they turned out either too hard or too soft an sometimes rubbery. 😦

2. thelazychef - September 24, 2006

Hello nel-er…
There are generally 2 ways to bake muffins.
1: Creaming the butter till white, then adding in the rest. This method always gives fluffy muffins, but I think its so troublesome to lug out my mixer, so I prefer recipes that use method 2.
2: This method uses the technique that combines wet and dry ingredients. Simple and fuss-free. Normally much lesser work than method 1. BUT, do it wrongly, and you’ll get hard and rubbery muffins. So yes, the secret to creating wonderfully fluffy muffins with this method is NEVER OVERMIX the batter when you combine the wet and dry ingredients. The batter should look lumpy and NOT smooth. Once you see that all the flour have been mixed well into the liquids, STOP mixing. By overmixing, you are getting rid of the air in the batter, which results in the muffin being dense, heavy and hard.
However, I must point out that muffins that are made by the creaming method would produce a cake-like consistency, thus, being more fluffy.
I hope this simple explanation helps. 🙂
Update me when you’ve succeeded in baking fluffy muffins! 😀

3. ye - March 4, 2007

hello! one cup is how many grams?

4. thelazychef - March 5, 2007

Hi ye…

It really depends on what you’re measuring! One cup of flour has a different weight from one cup of sugar!

Thus, I would recommend that you purchase a measuring cup when you’re free! Its very inexpensive and it is very very useful around the kitchen!

Hope my explanation helps! 🙂

5. Ken - July 25, 2007

Hi,
Whenever I make muffins, they are dense and heavy. What can I do to make them light and fluffy? I follow all recipe directions, but still they end up with dense muffins.
Should I cream the butter and sugar first? Use buttermilk instead of milk or water? What do you suggest?

6. thelazychef - July 25, 2007

Hi Ken,

Someone else asked me this question and I gave her my reply above! So, please read the comment I left above.

If you cream the butter and sugar, you’ll definately have a lighter muffin. And I think the choice of liquid should either be the buttermilk or milk and not water, but then again, it depends on the recipe.

And as I’ve mentioned above, if you want to use the simple method of baking muffins(ie: mix wet ingredients with dry ingredients), make sure you are light-handed and do NOT over-mix the ingredients when you combine them together. Just lightly mix them till the dry ingredients are just moistened.

Hope it helps!

If you have any other questions, feel free to drop me another comment!

7. Martha - August 8, 2007

how many muffins can i make with one banana

8. thelazychef - August 12, 2007

Hi Martha,

It really depends! I say this because your banana might be bigger or smaller than those that I use…
Also, it depends on size of your muffin cups. I think they would be about 3-5 muffins for every banana used. If you use a bigger muffin cup, you’ll get lesser and vice versa. 🙂

Hope it helps!

9. lin - November 18, 2007

hey, can i ask if i can use HL milk? Does UHT milk equals to HL milk? And my mum is complaining butter is bad for health.. lol, can i replace with magarine (which u mention) with butter and i get the same taste? Hope to hear from u soon. 🙂

10. lin - November 18, 2007

Oh yes, one more thing, where can i get unsalted butter and which brand u will reccommand? usually i use the star logo salted butter. sorry for so many questions.


Leave a Reply

