jump to navigation

Crustless Quiche March 10, 2006

Posted by thelazychef in Uncategorized.
trackback

Quiche... mmm... 

I love quiche.

I can eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Why? Cos it has eggs in ‘dem! Haha… I guess I just love eggs alot.

This recipe is tried and tested. MANY TIMES. Cos its so yummy! And everyone loves it. Once, i had friends staying over and I had to bake 2 huge ones to satisfy them!

But the main reason why I love this particular recipe is because, its doesn’t have a crust! So, i get an even greater bite of all the ingredients and the egg base! And yes, because i’m so lazy, i don’t have to roll the dough for the crust! hehe… And another reason? I am on a low-carbo diet, so this is something I can indulge in without worrying too much(as compared to the muffins and cakes!)! haha…  

Well, I have been getting requests from friends and passers-by from my blog, for the recipe of this quiche. So, i decided, why not post it here and share it with everyone else. Good things are meant to shared anyway right?

Crustless Quiche
Egg Base:
1. 1/2 cup Bisquick
2. 1 cup milk (I use fresh milk)
3. 2 Eggs
4. 1/8 teaspoon freshly milled black pepper
5. 1/4 teaspoon salt
Ingredients for quiche:
1. 1 tomato, sliced thinly
2. 1/2 cup mushrooms (those canned button mushrooms will do), sliced into 4s.
3. 1 big onion, sliced thinly
4. 3~4 slices of honey baked ham, sliced into 1 inch by 1/2 inch size.
5. 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
6. 1/3 cup cheddar cheese

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 200ºC. Grease a 9-inch flan/pie dish. Arrange in layers the ham,mushrooms, tomatoes, onion and cheese.

2. Combine all the ingredients from the egg base in a large bowl and mix well.

3. Bake for about 35 minutes or until knife inserted in centre comes out clean and golden brown.

Notes:

Sometimes, i like to add in an extra dash of milk and an extra egg cos i like my quiche to be a little thicker.

I always have left over cream cheese lying in the fridge every once in a while, and i normally mix in about 2-3 table spoons of cream cheese into the egg base. Makes the quiche a little wetter when baked but its more fragrant.

You can play around with the ingredients in this recipe. Add cooked bacon instead(but remember to cut out the salt cos the bacon is normally very salty!), add in bell peppers, spinach… etc…

I have tried using many different cheeses in the process of experimenting. And i have found out that purely using cheddar cheese would make it a tad bitter because of the nature of the cheese. Purely using mozzarella cheese is nice if you do not like the strong smell of cheese, but for me, since i love cheese, i find it a little bland if i only use mozzarella. Swiss cheese is also another cheese that goes well with this dish. Experiment yourself and decide which one you prefer better! And yes, by all means, add MORE cheese if you like!!!

 

Comments»

1. Janice - March 21, 2006

Hi Rachel,
It’s me Janice again…

Was wondering what Bisquik is?
I can’t find that in Canberra….

Ur quiche looks really delicious…

Eniwei, just to share my blog with u…so that you won’t be clueless who I am…

me - April 14, 2011

Bisquik is a premaid biscuit flour, basically consisting of flour, with butter cut in to it and salt, baking powder and powdered milk.

With bisquik you just add water to make biscuits.

biscuit + quick = bisquik

anyway you can make the same thing just cut 2-3 tablespoons of butter into 1/2 cup flour with a fork until it make tiny pea sized clumps, add a tiny pinch of salt and baking powder

2. Becca - November 5, 2006

To make it even healthier, I cut out the ham completely and just load it with any veggies I can find in the fridge. Also, for a thicker quiche, try using the fat free half and half or if you like the scent of the cream cheese and the sharpness, fat free sour cream. I put it all in the blender for ease and I can have a crustless quiche (I believe this has a fancy name I heard on the food network once) in the oven in like 10 minutes

3. thelazychef - November 5, 2006

Hi Becca…

Thanks for the extra tips!

4. James - February 17, 2007

Yea, I guess we\’ll see about that. I\’m not too convinced.

5. noor - April 25, 2007

Hi Rachel,
may I know what is Bisquick and where can i get it. Thanks

6. thelazychef - May 2, 2007

Hi Noor…

Bisquick is a baking mix which you can get easily from the baking section at any supermarket.

To see how it looks like, google “Bisquick”. It is a product of Betty Crocker…

Hope it helps!

7. Cheryl - March 14, 2009

Hi rachel,
I enjoy ur blog and recipes very much as u make baking seems a breeze.
May I know is there any substitute to bisquick ?

8. Jessicaviv - August 11, 2010

Any baking mix will substitute nicely for bisquick… Pre-boxed baking mix (used for muffins, biscuits, pancakes)

9. http://Www.idealog.co.nz/ - May 8, 2013

An impressive share! I have just forwarded
this onto a co-worker who was doing a little research on this.
And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because I discovered it for him.
.. lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!
! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this issue here
on your web page.

10. Cathleen - May 29, 2013

I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I
can’t to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me recognise so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

11. abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships articles - August 29, 2013

abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships arti…

Crustless Quiche | If she can do it, so can you.

12. automotive spice assessment - October 18, 2013

Hello, I desire to subscribe for this web site to get most recent updates, so where can
i do it please assist.


Leave a Reply

