jump to navigation

Pineapple Tarts January 28, 2006

Posted by thelazychef in Cookies.
trackback

I LOVE pineapple tarts.

Especially those melt-in-your-mouth kind!

My mummy used to make them when i was young, and i loved them alot! And since i picked up baking recently, she’s been telling me all her baking stories when she was younger.(She since got lazy and would just buy off the shelf or get them from friends). This year, i decided to re-ignite that baking spirit in her!

So, i bought a pack of those pre-made pineapple fillings from Phoon Huat, ready to make some yummy tarts!

Then one evening, i was out with Irene, and she made me so inspired to make my own jam! So, i decided to buy a few pineapples!

The results?

I love my jam! Its less sticky, easier to work with, (because the Phoon Huat version was too sticky for my liking, and it came out hard after baking!) and mine remained moist even after baking.

BUT, my ‘refined-mouth’ bf, said it would have been better if i blended the jam slightly because it was still a little fibrous. But I like it that way. At least I could chew into the fillings. Hehe…

And so, armed with my mummy’s (long-lost-but-now-found)recipe, we made the tarts! I don’t deny. The whole process was super tiring. I find the punching out and pinching (of design) was the most tedious! I would rather stand in front of the stove to cook the jam! Haha…

But it was a good experience. Can’t wait to try it again next year!

 

Pineapple Tarts

What you need!

Pastry

4 oz self raising flour
4 oz plain flour
5 oz butter
1 large egg, slightly beaten
 

Pineapple filling

2 semi ripe pineapples
Caster sugar
Brown sugar
What to do!

1. Remove skin and black eyes from pineapple (I got the fruit seller to remove it for me!)
2. Grate pineapple and squeeze out the juice. (Squeeze until as dry as you can!)
3. Put pineapple into a large pot and cook.
4. Cook over medium heat for 1- 1 1/2 hours.
5. Add sugar to sweetness desired.
6. Cook for another 30 mins or until it is dry and sticky.
7. Using rubbing-in method, combine butter and sifted self raising flour and plain flour, till they resemble bread crumbs.
8. Make a well in between crumbs and add the egg.
9. Knead the egg into the dough, till they all combine. If it is not wet enough, add a teaspoon or two of cold water.
10. Put dough into a large bowl and keep covered with a cloth as you shape the tarts individually.
11. Roll dough into 1/4 inch thickness and use tart cutters to ‘punch’ out the tarts. Place a generous amount of pineapple filling on top. You may want to put a tiny bit of dough on top of the filling for decoration.
12. Grease the pan, and placed tarts 1/2 inches apart.
13. Bake preheated oven at 200 degree celcius for 25 min.
Enjoy! 

 

Comments»

1. irene - January 30, 2006

wah your tarts look yummy … great job 😉

hope to taste some next yr heehee

2. thelazychef - January 30, 2006

Yes yes! Of course! Will definately reserve one bottle for you!

3. cheryl - January 30, 2006

ya i agree! they do look delicious. good job! oh by the way, here’s wishing you a happy chinese new year! cheers!

4. germaine - January 15, 2007

hi

do you make these for sale? was thinking of buying them for chinese new year

5. Zarina - September 23, 2008

Hi…do you use a damp cloth to cover the dough? And for how long? Or will a dry cloth do? Thanks

6. thelazychef - September 29, 2008

yes, please use a damp cloth to cover the dough so that it will not dry up. You should use the dough once you have prepared it. You do not need to let it rest before using.

7. RCL - January 31, 2011

Hello! May I find out where you bought your tart cutter from? I really like the detail! Thanks very much.

8. yumme - August 17, 2012

Hello, there is still pineapple eye remover tool for sale.
You can remove the pineapple eyes easily in seconds.
Interested, do drop me a mail and I will tell you where to get.


Leave a comment